My Profound Thoughts on the Super Bowl

Yesterday two teams played in the big one, the Super Bowl. It was an exciting ending to a long game. You probably saw it, or, if you opted to do something else such as play monopoly or read Harry Potter, you probably still heard about it. Seattle was about to score the winning touchdown when the ball was intercepted by the Patriots. You’ve gotta be happy for the player, whose name I don’t remember—the one who caught the interception. I am. I’m happy for his team, his coaches, his hometown, his friends, his family. I’m happy for her mother.

But here’s my problem with sports. For every winner, there’s always a loser. And I can’t help it.  I always feel bad for the loser. I feel bad for the Sea Hawks who were totally expecting to win, and then didn’t. I especially feel bad for that poor player who got bumped and missed catching the ball for the touchdown. I feel bad for the coaches and for that player’s hometown, family and friends, his grandparents, and yes, that guy has a mommy too.

An eye-opening book about what can happen to a football player who fouls up is John Grisham’s Playing for Pizza. We listened to this book on audio once when we were traveling, and really enjoyed it. Unlike Grisham’s heavier books that draw from his legal background, this one is a more fun, lighter read. It does, however, takes a good second look at sports. Are we too hard on players? Do we take all this too seriously? Ummm, I’d say so.

But I guess it could be even worse. A friend of mine from South America says that sometimes soccer players who foul up in countries there have actually been killed off—that that has happened more than once. Now that’s what I call pressure. You lose, you die!

If you get a chance pick up John Grisham’s Playing for PIzza. I think you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

