Can you guess which of these thirteen things are true?

I was challenged to list thirteen things about myself that my Facebook friends might not know.  I listed quite a few but then decided to do a little fabricating here and there just to keep things interesting.  See if you can tell which things are true and which aren’t.

1. When I was three and we still lived in Denmark,  I fell in a canal and was saved by my two-year-old cousin.

2. I have a serious fear or heights and avoid escalators. Elevators are okay unless they’re glass-enclosed. Then I have to crouch down and hide my eyes.

3. I love applesauce and like to mix it in with gravy. I like broccoli with jam.

4. I almost died when I was six or seven due to complications following a tonsillectomy.  The doctor had left a roll of gauze in my throat.

5. I once had a puppet and book shop where my family and I put on puppet shows for birthday parties. One summer my kids and I put on shows at our local libraries.

6. I majored in chemistry but became a writer.

7.  I sucked my thumb for an outrageously long time—well into elementary. It was so hard to stop that to this day I empathize with people who are trying to quit smoking. I mean my thumb did not even contain nicotine. (As far as I know, anyway)

8. I do a great imitation of Betty Boop.

9. I was the height I am now, 5ft. 10, in 3rd grade.

10. My first published story was called “Tall.”

11. I served in “the Disneyland mission” and gave out copies of the Book of Mormon on the “It’s a Small World” ride.

12. I hated to babysit so much when I was a teenager, that I decided I’d better not have children.

13. My husband and I got engaged after we’d only known each other for two weeks.

Did you guess which ones are true? I heard the best liars slip the false in with the true. So ha ha ha, got ya!  I did fall in a canal, but it was a Dutch, not a Danish canal.  My family’s from Holland, not Denmark. And my cousin, John, was actually more like two and a half. He couldn’t swim yet, but he did make such a racket that he got me some help. Okay, I’ m kind of just blobbing this all together. So numbers two through five are true except for the with jam part on number three.  Number six is only partially true. I did become a writer, but no way did I major in chemistry. I didn’t even attempt that major.  I did try out three or four other majors  until I finally remembered I’d always liked to diagram sentences and switched to English and creative writing. Seven and eight are unfortunately true, but not nine. I’ve never been 5 ft. 10. I only grew to be  5 ft. 7 and reached that height in eighth grade, not third. It’s true that my first published story was called “Tall,” however. I wrote several more teen and children’s stories for magazines along with articles and even a few books. As far as doing missionary work in Disneyland, I did serve in Anaheim, but didn’t make it to Disneyland while I was there. I had gone to Disneyland about ten years before that—the year after it opened. Yes, I’m that old. And last, my husband and I waited for a whole three weeks before we got engaged. That was over forty years ago. Obviously, I changed my mind about having children. We have three great daughters and one fantastic son. Our children were smart enough to marry lovely and very smart people and now we have thirteen WONDERFUL and GENIUS grandchildren whom I love to tend. And yes, it used to make me nauseous as well when grandparents said things like that. Now I say this stuff. I may even get one of those obnoxious bumper stickers. Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

