You Are What You Eat?

Fat Belly! Big Hips! Find out the best diet for your body type and  lose NINE POUNDS in a week! That was the essence of the headline on the Woman’s World magazine I saw spotted while I was grocery shopping a few days ago. Dr. Oz’s picture above the article and his name underneath cinched it. I threw it in my basket. 
At home I quickly glanced through the article. It said that each of us has inherited either a hunter or farmer metabolism from our ancestors. There was a sample diet in one corner of the page. “Whole wheat toast,” I read on breakfast menu along with some other food items. Along with a salad, “whole wheat bread” and jam was listed on the lunch menu. Then there was “pasta” on the dinner menu. I thought, I could totally live with this diet. But wait, not so fast! I noticed another set of menus just above the ones I was looking at. I’d apparently been looking at the diet for the farmer type body—the menus for people who tend to gain in the hip area. The hunter person, on the other hand, produces excess sugar and therefore any carbs go right to belly fat. This other diet for this body type (mine) had no toast, no pasta in its sample menus. There was a little fruit, yes, but this diet, I could quickly see, consisted almost exclusively of salads and fish and meats and beans etc.
So here’s my question for Dr. Oz.  If I have inherited the hunter’s metabolism, then why, if I had a choice, would I much prefer spending time perusing the shelves of a bakery than sitting in some tree waiting for a hapless squirrel or rabbit to wander by? 
All I can figure is if my ancestor really was a  hunter, he was a hunter who stopped by farms on the way to the hunting grounds and used his hunting knife to cut off sections of pies that were cooling on window sills. Or if he were a more law-abiding hunter (and I imagine conscientiousness is inherited) I think he would have attempted to trade venison or other meats for bread products. Further, I’m guessing my hunter ancestor, if there really was such a person, was probably only a hunter because it was expected of him—you know, a family thing.  But here’s an even more basic question. I’m from Holland. Were there even hunters in Holland?  You see miles of flat farmland and lots of tulip fields, and black and white cows, but not a lot of areas where wild animals might roam. In other words, we’re not talking about safari land.  And I’m thinking it would not be easy to sneak around in wooden shoes or climb trees to look for game in those wide black pants.
But if it’s true and I came from hunter stock, I think any hunter ancestor quickly married into a farmer or baker family so that he and this big hipped happy wife could sneak off and have picnics with a baskets of pound cakes, oliebolen, and almond pastries. (Again there is probably not much sneaking around done in wooden shoes.) Basically, if I received a hunter ancestor’s metabolism, I think he was an  unusual, unconventonal hunter.
Needless to say I didn’t lose anywhere near the nine pounds this week that the article said I could lose. I have lost enough weight to conclude, however, that eating less of what I love does seem to work for me, and sooooo, this hunter diet is pretty much just like any other diet—difficult! So here’s what I’m thinking. I might go ahead and try the farmer’s diet for a day or two—in the hopes that having an ancestor who was not a full-fledged and dedicated hunter but more of a farmer (or baker) wannabe, has by any chance affected my metabolism.
Note: I’ve been having people from various countries hit my blog and this post in hopes of finding the menus for the Hunter and Farmer diets. The menus are in the August 6, 2012 Woman’s World. There’s also a book called The Hunter/Farmer Diet Solution.
Leave a Reply

