Conversation with my Grandsons’ Friend

Honesty is the best policy. I know that. I also know where liars go. But telling the truth can sometimes get complicated. As I posted a few days ago, my grandsons found out that telling the whole truth, for instance, is not always a good idea when you receive a birthday gift. Here’s a conversation I had with one of their friends about two years ago.

Note: I have a small strawberry birthmark over my eye that I cover with makeup in the morning, but then forget to check during the day.

Little boy: What’s that over your eye?

Me: It’s a birthmark. That’s a little mark that’s on your skin when you’re born.

Little boy: How did you get it?

Me: It was just there. Babies sometimes have little red marks when they’re born and usually they just go away, but this one didn’t go away.

Little boy: How did you get hurt?

Me: I didn’t get hurt. It was just there when I was born. Some birthmarks are red and some are brown. My daughter has a brown birthmark on her leg.

Little boy: (still staring at birthmark) But how did you get it?

Me: It . . . ummm.

Little boy: How did you get it?

Me: Silent

Little boy: How did you get it?

Me: Silent

Little boy: How did you . . .

Me: I ran into a door.

Little boy: Ohhhhhh.

Leave a Reply

